Dating.

“Oh, dating.

It’s beautiful, really: Boy meets girl, boy woos girl, girl falls for boy. Wedding. Babies. Bliss.

Or, if you’re a Christian, it may go a little more like this:
boy meets girl, boy hangs in groups with girl, girl falls in love, boy sends a text message, girl reads dating book, boy eats pizza, girl writes journal entries to her future husband, boy checks out the new Liam Neeson film, girl asks for prayer from her small group.

And on goes the love story. Clearly we Christians have really got this whole thing on lock, right?

If you’re starting to doubt our dating prowess, think again. Don’t discount that we’ve created an entire lexicon of our own words for it. We drop ‘pursue’ and ‘intention’ bombs to describe it, we have graphs and charts and Venn diagrams to track it; we have promise rings to commemorate it.”
— Stuff Christians Like —

I recently talked to several friends on their perspective on dating. As I’ve learned from a young age, Christian dating is different from worldly dating. Though the answers I’ve received all shared a common thread; that dating is exclusive. However, what are the boundaries? Boundaries, in a different perspective, for instance:
Don’t fall in love with someone you wouldn’t be friends with – thus, place a boundary around your heart to prevent yourself from dating someone who does not possess the character and friendship qualities you look for in a long-term relationship. “The best boundary you can have in your dating life is to begin every relationship with an eye toward friendship.
Dating won’t cure a lonely heart – thus, if you want to cure your fear of being alone, you need to put a boundary around your wish for a relationship.I know these are boundaries that are quite obvious, (youre probably thinking ‘duh’ right now, i know i did) but it feels as though when you’re in situations that may lead up to dating, you’re always unsure. it seems as though the definition of ‘dating’ changes with each stage of my life I’m in. I feel that with each ‘prospective’ that I’ve had, I have learned something different from each one (mostly traits that I can do without in my future family leader, sadly to say). Regardless, it still amazes me how two people can be so compatible — timing, location, characteristics must match, attractiveness in the eyes of each beholder, humor, sarcasm, same spiritual commitment, someone you are willing to share all your values and thoughts, someone you trust your fragile oxygenating organ with. And yet, I have eyewitness of friends that seem as though they really were ‘meant for each other’. I think at those times, you definitely know God brought them together.

To end this on a more light-hearted note, here are a few pick up lines, courtesy of StuffChristiansLike. Seriously, do any of these ever work?

  1. “I would part the Red Sea for you.” It’s the Bruno Mars of Christian pick up lines.
  2. “What’re you doing for the rest of your afterlife?” Hashtag #raptureromance.
  3. “Did it hurt when you fell from heaven?” This one is has been out there in the real world being used unknowingly by non-believers for dozens of years. Get after it.
  4. “Let’s be like Noah and do this as a pair.” Solid. Gold.
  5. “You must be Egyptian because I’m a slave for you.” It’s Britney meets B.C.
  6. “You and me, we’re like loaves and fishes…we just might be a miracle.” Mystery and intrigue are the key to any good relationship. Oh, and raw fish.
  7. “Do you want to be accountability partners?” Oldest trick in the book.
  8. “On first dates, I always take girls to get BBQ ribs. It feels the most biblical considering they came from one.” This one is super impressive.
  9. “I know you’ve already said no once, but call me Joshua because I’m going to break down your walls.” I think any woman would love to be referred to as Jericho.
  10. “I’m no Joseph, but I’m having trouble interpreting the dreams I’ve been having about you.” As long as you don’t mention skinny or fat cows, you should be golden. Wait, no golden cows either.
  11. “I may not have a job right now, and I may live in my parent’s basement, but I swear to you I’m storing up treasure in heaven and my mansion is gonna rock.” If this doesn’t get her, nothing else will.
  12. “Wanna come over and watch Left Behind?” Hey, it just might work.

Leave a Reply

