Footprints in the Sand.

One night I dreamed a dream.
I was walking along the beach with my Lord.
Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.
For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,
one belonging to me and the other to my Lord.

When the last scene of my life flashed before me
I looked back at the footprints in the sand.
I noticed many times along the path of my life, there was only one set of footprints.
I also noticed that it happened at the very lowest and saddest times in my life.

This really bothered me and I questioned the Lord about it,
“Lord, you told me when I decided to follow You,
You would walk with me all the way.
But I have noticed that during the most troublesome times in my life, there is only one set of footprints.
I don’t understand why in times when I needed You the most,
You would leave me.”

He whispered, “My precious, precious child, 
I love you and I would never ever
leave you during your times of trials and suffering,
When you saw only one set of footprints
it was then that I carried you.”

– Margaret Fishback Powers

Leave a Reply

